[Skip to Navigation]
[Skip to Navigation Landing]
September 1994

The Archives of Dermatology Annual Trainee Award

Author Affiliations

Division of Dermatology Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine PO Box 850 Hershey, PA 17033

Arch Dermatol. 1994;130(9):1190. doi:10.1001/archderm.1994.01690090114019

The Annual Trainee Award was established 8 years ago to encourage and recognize the research efforts of residents and fellows in dermatology. To be eligible, the trainee must have prepared the original manuscript while in training and must be the first author on the article.

For articles published in 1993,21 were found to meet these eligibility requirements. The committee that was given the difficult task of determining this year's awardee consisted of Jo-David Fine, MD, George J. Hruza, MD, Guy F. Webster, MD, and Mary L. Williams, MD. The results of the judging determined the winner to be Lawrence S. Chan, MD, for his work on immunemediated blistering diseases of mucous membranes.1

Dr Chan was born in Hong Kong and subsequently grew up in the city of Canton (now named Guangzhou), the People's Republic of China. Dr Chan came to the United States in 1975, with minimal knowledge of