[Skip to Navigation]
June 1938

Le eritremie.

Arch Intern Med (Chic). 1938;61(6):1015. doi:10.1001/archinte.1938.00180110170016

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


This paper is an attempt to classify the proliferative disorders of the erythropoietic system logically. The preferred term for the group is erythremic myelosis. The subdivisions, in order of decreasing anaplasia of the erythropoietic tissue, are as follows:

  1. Very acute erythremic myelosis of the newborn (erythroblastosis foetalis)

  2. Acute erythremic myelosis (acute erythroblastic anemia)

  3. Chronic erythremic myelosis (Cooley's erythroblastic anemia)

  4. Chronic erythremic myelosis, Vaquez type (polycythaemia vera). Intergradations between these forms and leukemic myeloses of comparable severity are described and named. (In the discussion which followed the presentation of the paper the author suggested including this fourth form.)

The syndromes discussed appear to be more common in Italy than in this country. The discovery and the recognition of the rarer types, especially the leukemic and erythremic combinations, are praiseworthy, and the logical classification offered is a credit to Italian hematology.

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview