[Skip to Navigation]
Sign In
JAMA Internal Medicine Masthead
November 11, 2013

JAMA Internal Medicine

JAMA Intern Med. 2013;173(20):1856. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2013.6331

Mission Statement: To promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of human health by publishing manuscripts of interest and relevance to internists practicing as generalists or as medical subspecialists.

  • Editor Rita F. Redberg, MD, MSc

Deputy Editors

  • Deborah Grady, MD, MPH, San Francisco, California

  • Mitchell H. Katz, MD, Los Angeles, California

  • Patrick G. O'Malley, MD, MPH, Washington, DC

Statistical Editors

  • David V. Glidden, PhD, San Francisco, California

  • John M. Neuhaus, PhD, San Francisco, California

Associate Editors

  • Kenneth E. Covinsky, MD, MPH, San Francisco, California

  • Joseph S. Ross, MD, MHS, New Haven, Connecticut

Assistant Editors

  • Raman R. Khanna, MD, MAS, San Francisco, California

  • Kathleen M. McKibbin, MD, Winnetka, Illinois

Editorial Coordinator

  • Katherine Gilhooley, San Francisco, California

Editorial Assistant

  • Mary Kohut, San Francisco, California

Editorial Office

  • UCSF School of Medicine

  • 505 Parnassus Ave, Ste M1180, Box 0124

  • San Francisco, CA 94143-0124

  • Phone: (415) 476-3117

  • Fax: (866) 465-1761

  • jamainternalmed@jamanetwork.org

Section Editors

Challenges in Clinical Electrocardiography

  • Jeffrey Tabas, MD, San Francisco, California

  • Paul D. Varosy, MD, Denver, Colorado

  • Gregory M. Marcus, MD, San Francisco, California

  • Nora Goldschlager, MD, San Francisco, California


  • Jeffrey Tabas, MD, San Francisco, California

Images From Our Readers

  • Rebecca Larson, San Francisco, California

Less Is More

  • Deborah Grady, MD, MPH, San Francisco, California

Less Is More Perspectives

  • Rosemary Gibson, MSc, Arlington, Virginia

  • Shannon Brownlee, MS, Boston, Massachusetts


  • Robert Steinbrook, MD, New Haven, Connecticut


  • Raman R. Khanna, MD, MAS, San Francisco, California

Editorial Board

  • JudyAnn Bigby, MD, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Ezekiel J. Emanuel, MD, PhD, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

  • Mark N. Feinglos, MD, CM, Durham, North Carolina

  • Chi-yuan Hsu, MD, MSc, San Francisco, California

  • Kurt Kroenke, MD, Indianapolis, Indiana

  • Grace A. Lin, MD, San Francisco, California

  • Mary M. McDermott, MD, Chicago, Illinois

  • C. Noel Bairey Merz, MD, Los Angeles, California

  • Samia Mora, MD, MHS, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Robert A. Phillips, MD, PhD, Worcester, Massachusetts

  • Michael Pignone, MD, MPH, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

  • Judith J. Prochaska, PhD, MPH, Stanford, California

  • Bruce M. Psaty, MD, PhD, MPH, Seattle, Washington

  • Kathryn M. Rexrode, MD, MPH, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Mary E. Tinetti, MD, New Haven, Connecticut

International Advisory Board

  • Nicolas Rodondi, MD, MAS Bern, Switzerland

  • Iona Heath, MA, BChir, FRCP, PRCGP, CB, London, England

Publication Staff

  • Offices 515 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

  • Editor in Chief, The JAMA Network Howard Bauchner, MD

  • Executive Editor Phil B. Fontanarosa, MD, MBA

  • Executive Managing Editor Annette Flanagin

  • Managing Editor Paula Glitman

Editorial Processing

  • Manuscript Editing Manager Lauren B. Fischer

  • Senior Manuscript Editors John McFadden, Donald S. Smith

  • Manuscript Editors Karen L. Boyd, Rochelle C. Lodder

  • Freelance Manuscript Editing Manager Diane L. Cannon

  • Freelance Manuscript Editing Coordinators Connie L. Manno, Fred Marshall

  • Freelance Copy Editors and Copyreaders Laura Adamcyzk, Catherine A. Alden, Jan Clavey, Mary Coerver-Connolly, Gillian Dickens, Laura King, Juliann Lundell Tarsney, Donna J. Thordsen, Caroline Woods

  • Editorial Assistant Wanda Hill

Editorial Operations and Systems

  • Directors Larry Bryant, Monica Mungle, Elaine Williams

  • Managers and Staff Lenette Gardner-Gullens, Fanny L. Brown, Paul Frank, Rachell Lozano, Michaela Mark, Kathryn Muskovich, J.D. Neff, Kate Pezalla, Gale Saulsberry

Scientific Online Resources

  • Deputy Editor and Director Michael Berkwits, MD

  • Director, Development and Design Michelle Kurzynski

  • Staff Eric Butkus, Christopher Hastings, Craig McCaffrey, Reuben Rios

Editorial Graphics

  • Director Ronna Henry, MD

  • Staff Joshua Bird, Alison E. Burke, Cassio Lynm, David Song

Clinical Review & Education

  • Deputy Editor Edward H. Livingston, MD

  • CME Editor Thomas B. Cole, MD, MPH


  • Director Marla A. Hall

  • Staff Deanna Willis, Yolanda Davis

  • Editorial Counsel Joseph P. Thornton, JD

Media Relations

  • Director Jann Ingmire

  • Staff Deanna Bellandi, Jim Michalski

Periodical Publishing Staff

  • Senior Vice President and Publisher, Periodical Publications Thomas J. Easley

  • Staff Monica Smith

Advertising Print & Online Sales & Marketing

  • Director Jeffery J. Bonistalli

  • Manager Kathy Russell

  • Staff Mirna Monal

  • Sales Representative Tim Melroy

Classified Advertising

  • Manager Thalia Moss

  • Staff Tem Harrier, Susan J. Henning

  • Director, Marketing Mark Thornbury

  • Staff Tricia Castellano

Reprint Communications

  • Manager Susan Lovenberg

Circulation Print & Online Sales & Marketing

  • Director, Worldwide Sales Vida Damijonaitis

  • Managers Saskia Bolore, Gretchen Linder, Brian McCartney

  • Staff Rebecca Haas, Christine Hearne, Irma Millie Lara, Audra Lawlor, Maliya Scott

Marketing and Product Development

  • Directors Matt Herron, Elizabeth Solaro

  • Associate Publisher/Senior Product Development Geoffrey Flick

  • Senior Product Development Manager Paul Gee

  • Managers Rick Bell, Michael McGraw, Sara Nagy, Stacy Tucker

  • Staff Millette Jackson-Bates

Business Operations

  • Directors Karen Adams-Taylor, Karl Elvin, Sue Sherrill, Brian Shields

  • Managers David Antos, Chris Borden, Debbie Camp, Lydia Cruz, Diane Darnell, Colleen Kelly, Chris Meyer, Jaye Mize, Annemarie Neff, Sean O’Donnell, Sean Ohlson, Phil O'Leary, Ryan Patella, Susan Price, Denise Steinhauser

  • Advertising and Production Services Kim Boler, Rhonda Bailey Brown, Timothy Burke, Daniel DeGroot, Jordynn Farrar, Euwanaha Joiner-Smith, Cindy Rendlen, Ellen Yoshihara

  • Circulation Services Julie Burton, Dexter Golden, Erin Hinchcliff, Noemi Rivera, Geneine Van Someren

  • Composition and New Media Gail Barrett, Regina Brownlee, Brenda Chandler-Grayer, Scott Curl, Amy Evers, Teri Hutchison, Mary Ann Kuranda, Joshua Lampinen, Patricia E. Panek, La'son Diggs Sledge, George Thomson

  • Graphics Joe Amft, Maria Duda, Fred Furtner, Carolyn Hall, Maria Kowalkowski

  • Proofreading Carol Joy Farrell, Daniel James, Judith A. Literskis, Teresa H. Omiotek

AMA Executives

  • Executive Vice President, Chief Executive Officer James L. Madara, MD

  • Chief Operating Officer Bernard L. Hengesbaugh

The JAMA Network is a consortium of peer-reviewed print and online medical publications that includes JAMA, JAMA Internal Medicine, and other specialty journals. All articles published, including editorials, letters, and book reviews, represent the opinions of the authors and do not reflect the policy of the American Medical Association, the Editorial Board, or the institution with which the author is affiliated, unless this is clearly specified.

© 2013 American Medical Association. All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission is prohibited.