[Skip to Navigation]
Sign In
JAMA Oncology Masthead
May 2015

JAMA Oncology

JAMA Oncol. 2015;1(2):132. doi:10.1001/jamaoncol.2014.244

JAMA Oncology is committed to publishing influential original research, opinions, and reviews that advance the science of oncology and improve the clinical care of patients with cancer.

Mission Statement: JAMA Oncology is the definitive journal for scientists, clinicians, and trainees in the field of oncology worldwide. Our original, innovative, and timely scientific and educational content provides a deeper understanding of cancer pathogenesis and recent treatment advances for our readers. JAMA Oncology aims to effectively convey the findings of important clinical research, major scientific breakthroughs, actionable discoveries, and state-of-the-art treatment pathways to the oncology community. Our goal is that successful communication of new knowledge will ultimately translate to clinical benefit for people living with and surviving cancer.


Mary L. (Nora) Disis, MD, Seattle, Washington

Deputy Editors

Lee M. Ellis, MD, Houston, Texas

Charles R. Thomas Jr, MD, Portland, Oregon

Associate Editor for Statistics

Yu Shyr, PhD, Nashville, Tennessee

Associate Editor for Editorials, Viewpoints, and Commentaries

George W. Sledge Jr, MD, Stanford, California

Associate Editor for Reviews and CME

Monica Morrow, MD, New York, New York

Web Editor

Howard (Jack) West, MD, Seattle, Washington

Editorial Manager

Kim Agricola, Seattle, Washington

Telephone: (206) 543-0483


Editorial Office

Center for Translational Medicine in Women’s Health

University of Washington

850 Republican St, Box 358050

Seattle, WA 98109-4714

Editorial Board

Leslie Bernstein, PhD, Duarte, California

Tito Fojo, MD, PhD, Bethesda, Maryland

Charles Fuchs, MD, MPH, Boston, Massachusetts

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Rakesh Jain, PhD, Boston, Massachusetts

David H. Johnson, MD, Dallas, Texas

Steven Katz, MD, MPH, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Edison Liu, MD, Bar Harbor, Maine

Minesh Mehta, MBChB, Baltimore, Maryland

Chadi Nabhan, MD, Chicago, Illinois

Steven Narod, MD, Toronto, Ontario

Howard Scher, MD, New York, New York

Larry Schwartz, MD, New York, New York

David Sidransky, MD, Baltimore, Maryland

Lillian Siu, MD, FRCPC, Toronto, Ontario

International Advisory Board

Eric O. Aboagye, PhD, PharmD, London, England

Fatima Cardoso, MD, Lisbon, Portugal

Johann S. de Bono, MB, ChB, FRCP, MSc, PhD, Surrey, England

Lesley Fallowfield, BSc, DPhil, FMedSci, East Sussex, England

Heikki Joensuu, MD, Helsinki, Finland

Yasufumi Kaneda, MD, PhD, Osaka, Japan

Sibylle Loibl, MD, PhD, Neu-Isenburg, Germany

Dong-Young Noh, MD, PhD, Seoul, South Korea

Fred Saad, MD, FRCS, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Emile E. Voest, MD, PhD, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Shan Wang, MD, Beijing, China

Robyn L. Ward, MD, PhD, Randwick, New South Wales, Australia

Pan-Chyr Yang, MD, PhD, Taipei, Taiwan

Publication Staff

  • Offices 330 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

  • Editor in Chief, The JAMA Network Howard Bauchner, MD

  • Executive Editor Phil B. Fontanarosa, MD, MBA

  • Executive Managing Editor Annette Flanagin

  • Managing Editor Brenda Gregoline

Editorial Processing

  • Manuscript Editing Manager Lauren Fischer

  • Senior Manuscript Editor John McFadden

  • Manuscript Editors Karen L. Boyd, Rochelle C. Lodder

  • Freelance Manuscript Editing Manager Diane L. Cannon

  • Freelance Manuscript Editing Coordinators Connie L. Manno, Fred Marshall

  • Freelance Copy Editors and Copyreaders Laura Adamczyk, Catherine A. Alden, Stephanie Lang Beckmeyer, Jan Clavey, Mary Coerver-Connolly, Paula Glitman, Roya Khatiblou, Laura King, Donna J. Thordsen, Caroline Woods

  • Editorial Assistant Wanda Hill

Editorial Operations and Systems

  • Directors Larry Bryant, Monica Mungle, Elaine Williams

  • Managers and Staff Lenette Gardner-Gullens, Fanny L. Brown, Paul Frank, Peter K. Kim, Rachell Lozano, Michaela Mark, Kathryn Muskovich, Gale Saulsberry

Scientific Online Resources

  • Deputy Editor and Director Michael Berkwits, MD

  • Director, Development and Design Michelle Kurzynski

  • Staff Eric Butkus, Will English IV, Craig McCaffrey, Reuben Rios

Editorial Graphics

  • Deputy Editor and Director Ronna Henry, MD

  • Staff Joshua Bird, Karen Bucher, Samantha Welker, David Song

Clinical Review & Education

  • Deputy Editor Edward H. Livingston, MD

  • CME Editor Thomas B. Cole, MD, MPH


  • Director Marla A. Hall

  • Staff Deanna Willis, Yolanda Davis

  • Editorial Counsel Joseph P. Thornton, JD

Media Relations

  • Staff Preeti Malani, MD, MSJ, Deanna Bellandi, Jim Michalski

Periodical Publishing Staff

  • Senior Vice President and Publisher, Periodical Publications Thomas J. Easley

  • Vice President, Publishing Business Operations Brian Shields

  • Staff Monica Smith

Advertising Print & Online Sales & Marketing

  • Director Jeffery J. Bonistalli

  • Manager Kathy Russell

  • Staff Mirna Monal

  • Sales Representatives Maureen A. Reichert, Nancy E. Souza

  • Director, Marketing Mark Thornbury

  • Staff Tricia Castellano

Classified Advertising

  • Manager Thalia Moss

  • Staff Mike Harvey,Susan J. Henning

Reprint Communications

  • Manager Susan Lovenberg

Circulation Print & Online Sales & Marketing

  • Director, Worldwide Sales Vida Damijonaitis

  • Managers Saskia Bolore, Gretchen Linder, Brian McCartney

  • Staff David Baum,Rebecca Haas, Christine Hearne, Irma Millie Lara, Ron Thomas

Marketing and Product Development

  • Directors Paul Gee,Matt Herron, Elizabeth Solaro

  • Associate Publisher/Senior Product Development Geoffrey Flick

  • Managers Rick Bell, Lindsay Dawson, Michael McGraw, Romando Rossini, Stacy Tucker

  • Staff Millette Jackson-Bates

Business Operations

  • Directors Karen Adams-Taylor, Karl Elvin, Jaye Mize, Sean O’Donnell, Sue Sherrill

  • Managers David Antos, Chris Borden, Debbie Camp, Lydia Cruz, Scott Curl, Diane Darnell, Colleen Kelly, Chris Meyer, Annemarie Neff, J.D. Neff, Sean Ohlson, Phil O'Leary, Bill Pedone, Susan Price, Denise Steinhauser

  • Advertising and Production Services Kim Boler, Rhonda Bailey Brown, Timothy Burke, Daniel DeGroot, Jordynn Farrar, Euwanaha Joiner-Smith, Tiffany Jones, Cindy Rendlen, Ellen Yoshihara

  • Circulation Services Julie Burton, Dexter Golden, Erin Hinchcliff, Maria Nienhaus, Noemi Rivera, Geneine Van Someren

  • Composition and New Media Gail Barrett, Regina Brownlee, Amanda Camino, Brenda Chandler-Grayer, Emily Dunn, Amy Evers, Teri Hutchison, Mary Ann Kuranda, Joshua Lampinen, Nathan Mitre, Patricia E. Panek, La'son Diggs Sledge, George Thomson

  • Graphics Joe Amft, Maria Duda, Fred Furtner, Carolyn Hall, Maria Kowalkowski

  • Proofreading Carol Joy Farrell, Daniel James, Judith A. Literskis, Teresa H. Omiotek, Sam Wilder

AMA Executives

  • Executive Vice President, Chief Executive Officer James L. Madara, MD

  • Chief Operating Officer Bernard L. Hengesbaugh

The JAMA Network is a consortium of peer-reviewed print and online medical publications that includes JAMA®, JAMA Oncology and other specialty journals. All articles published, including editorials, letters, and book reviews, represent the opinions of the authors and do not reflect the policy of the American Medical Association, the Editorial Board, or the institution with which the author is affiliated, unless this is clearly specified.

© 2015 American Medical Association. All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission is prohibited.