[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
February 1933


Arch Ophthalmol. 1933;9(2):244-247. doi:10.1001/archopht.1933.00830010257007

Students of physiologic optics, and this includes more or less every ophthalmologist, must have noted certain apparent discrepancies in the calculation of dioptric power as given in different works on the subject. For instance, in the classic work of Tscherning, the powers of the four refractive surfaces of the eye are given as follows:

Anterior surface of cornea, plus 47.24 diopters

Posterior surface of cornea, minus 4.73 diopters

Anterior surface of crystalline lens, plus 6.13 diopters

Posterior surface of crystalline lens, plus 9.53 diopters

These results are obtained by taking the reciprocal of the first focal length of each of these surfaces, the focal lengths being calculated from the given radii and indexes. The powers can be directly obtained by using my simplified formula: D equals aM, in which D stands for dioptric power as determined by the first focal length; a stands for the index (relative index)

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview