[Skip to Navigation]
January 1985

Ophthalmology in Canada

Arch Ophthalmol. 1985;103(1):134-137. doi:10.1001/archopht.1985.01050010140038

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Canadian ophthalmology has developed to its present state in North American ophthalmology as a result of Canada's unique economic, political, and academic scene. Canadian ophthalmologists practice in a large country divided into ten provinces, with a population of 26 million and two official languages—French and English.

Health care is the responsibility of each province and is regulated and funded through provincial governments. The provincial medical licensing bodies are self-regulated, autonomous organizations functioning at the pleasure of the provincial government. Medical specialty standards are maintained by a national medical body, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, which ensures a uniform standard of specialty training and certification. This standard is accepted by all provinces except Quebec, which conducts its own specialty examinations.

Health care costs—including hospital and physician services—are funded by tax revenues collected by provincial governments, transfer payments from the federal government, and, in some provinces, monthly health

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview
Add or change institution