This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.
Mr Charles Snyder, the librarian of the Lucien Howe Library of Ophthalmology, Harvard Medical School, and the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Boston, is well remembered by veteran readers of the Archives as the section editor of OUR OPHTHALMIC HERITAGE. During the tenure of David G. Cogan, MD, as chief editor of the Archives, this section provided exceptional reading for ophthalmologists with a historic interest. Most of the contributions were, in fact, authored by Charles Snyder. He recounted the contributions and foibles of major and minor figures in the history of ophthalmology in a lively and illuminating manner and always with impeccable scholarship. A number of these pieces that were written between 1961 and 1966 were collected in a volume entitled Our Ophthalmic Heritage and published by Little Brown & Co, Boston. This work has been out of print for a number of years and has become a sought-after collector's
Albert DM. Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary: Studies on Its History. Arch Ophthalmol. 1985;103(8):1122. doi:https://doi.org/10.1001/archopht.1985.01050080034015
Customize your JAMA Network experience by selecting one or more topics from the list below.
Create a personal account or sign in to: