[Skip to Navigation]
September 1985

News and Comment

Arch Ophthalmol. 1985;103(9):1284. doi:10.1001/archopht.1985.01050090036025

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Award Recipient Announced.  —Dr Louis J. Girard received the 1985 Distinguished Alumnus of Rice University Award.

Pennsylvania Academy Announces Officer and Award.  —The Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology announced that Edward A. Jaeger, MD, was elected president of the Eye Council. Dr Jaeger is professor of ophthalmology, Jefferson Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University, and attending surgeon, Wills Eye Hospital, Philadelphia.The academy also announced the presentation of its Distinguished Service Award to Joseph F. Novak, MD, who is clinical professor of ophthalmology at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. Dr Novak was recognized for his contributions to industrial ophthalmology and his implementation of mandatory eye protection for United States Steel Corporation.

Milton Boniuk, MD, Honored.  —The department of ophthalmology at Tulane University School of Medicine, New Orleans, honored Milton Boniuk, MD, of the Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, with the C. S. O'Brien Visiting Professorship at Tulane on

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview
Add or change institution