[Skip to Navigation]
November 1988

News and Comment

Arch Ophthalmol. 1988;106(11):1518. doi:10.1001/archopht.1988.01060140686033

National Advisory Eye Council Members Named.  —Secretary of Health and Human Services Otis R. Bowen, MD, has announced the appointment of John T. Flynn, MD, of Miami, Erwin J. Lurie, of New York, and Bruce E. Spivey, MD, of San Francisco, to serve on the National Advisory Eye Council, the principal advisory body to the National Eye Institute (NEI). The council includes 12 public members and five ex officio representatives.The new council members, to serve four-year terms ending Nov 30, 1991, will advise NEI director Carl Kupfer, MD, and his staff on the awarding of grants for vision research and research training. They will also provide guidance on NEI research policy and program planning.

Thomas D. Duane, MD, PhD, Receives Howe Medal From the American Ophthalmological Society.  Thomas D. Duane, MD, PhD, of Bedminster, Pa, who served as ophthalmologist-in-chief at Wills Eye Hospital, Philadelphia, from 1973 to 1981,

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview
Add or change institution