[Skip to Navigation]
January 1989

News and Comment

Arch Ophthalmol. 1989;107(1):27. doi:10.1001/archopht.1989.01070010029018

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Alfred Sommer Receives Charles A. Dana Award.  Dr Alfred Sommer of The Johns Hopkins University was the 1988 recipient of a Charles A. Dana Award for Achievement in Health and Higher Education based on his successful strategy for combating vitamin A deficiency that leads to blindness and mortality among children in developing countries.

New Chairman of Department of Ophthalmology at Stanford.  Michael F. Marmor, MD, was recently named Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at Stanford (Calif) University School of Medicine. Dr Marmor has been acting chairman of its Department of Ophthalmology for one year.

Conjunctival Impression Cytology for Assessment of Vitamin A Status (CIC-A): Training Manual Offered.  —The International Center for Epidemiologic and Preventive Ophthalmology (ICEPO) is now offering a free training manual for CIC-A. This method of assessing vitamin A status consists of applying narrow strips of mixed esters-cellulose filter paper to the bulbar conjunctiva. Specimens are

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview
Add or change institution