[Skip to Navigation]
March 1989

News and Comment

Arch Ophthalmol. 1989;107(3):331. doi:10.1001/archopht.1989.01070010341018

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


Francis A. L'Esperance, Jr, MD, Receives Arthur L. Schawlow Award From the Laser Institute of America.  —Francis A. L'Esperance, Jr, MD, of New York, NY, received the Arthur L. Schawlow Award from the Laser Institute of America at the Seventh International Congress on Applications of Lasers and Electro-Optics (ICALEO 88), October 30 through November 4, 1988, in Santa Clara, Calif. Dr L'Esperance, a Laser Institute of America member, is Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology at Columbia University, New York, NY, College of Physicians and Surgeons, and is on the staff of the Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center. The Schawlow Award was established by the Laser Institute of America in 1982 to recognize individuals who have made distinguished contributions in applications of lasers for science, industry, or education. The award honors the first recipient, Dr Arthur L. Schawlow, the 1981 Nobel Laureate in Physics.

Food and Drug Administration Safety Alert on Homemade Saline 

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview
Add or change institution