[Skip to Navigation]
Access to paid content on this site is currently suspended due to excessive activity being detected from your IP address Please contact the publisher to request reinstatement.
June 1951


AMA Arch Otolaryngol. 1951;53(6):646-654. doi:10.1001/archotol.1951.03750060041005

AN IMPORTANT step in scientific otolaryngology in the Midwest was taken when, in January, 1899, Dr. E. Fletcher Ingals invited a number of Chicago physicians to meet for the purpose of forming a society of specialists. The following doctors were present at what proved to be the organization of the Chicago Laryngological and Climatological Society, which later became the Chicago Laryngological and Otological Society: E. Fletcher Ingals, T. M. Hardie, H. G. Olds, H. M. Thomas, Norval H. Pierce, Arnold C. Klebs, F. Menge, M. R. Brown, E. T. Dickerman, W. L. Ballenger, J. A. Robison, A. M. Corwin, Otto Budde, G. Fitterer, W. E. Casselberry, G. L. Morgenthau, G. E. Shambaugh Sr., J. H. Coulter, O. T. Freer, A. R. Solenberger, and J. E. Rhodes. At the first meeting, May 20, 1899, 10 members attended the session in the rooms of the Chicago Medical Society.

From this beginning the

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview