[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
January 1990

1989 Research Awards

Arch Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg. 1990;116(1):21. doi:10.1001/archotol.1990.01870010025009

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


The research committee of the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery met at the Fifth International Symposium in Toronto, Canada, to consider a variety of high-quality proposals for the Academy's research awards.

The Resident Research Award gives up to $5000 to residents who are Academy members to stimulate pilot projects in facial plastic surgery. The Award was presented to John Sillman, MD (Ann Arbor, Mich), for his proposal entitled the "Functional Electrical Stimulation of Denervated Facial Muscle in Rabbits." This study plans to use a pattern of electrical stimulation to maintain the functional capacity of denervated muscle in an animal model.

The Investigator Development Award supports the work of a young faculty member to conduct significant research in facial plastic surgery. This $15000 award is given this year to Eugenio A. Aguilar, MD, for his study of "Fat Transplantation: Cell Viability Following Liposuction." This study proposes to use

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview