[Skip to Navigation]
Sign In
Citations 0
Surgical Anatomy
June 2001

June 2001

Arch Surg. 2001;136(6):642. doi:10.1001/archsurg.136.6.642

The left and right vagus nerves descend with the esophagus as distinct trunks to the level of the tracheal bifurcation. The left vagus is anterior and the right vagus is posterior. The left vagus nerve divides into branches to the anterior lesser curvature, gastric and hepatic branches, which pass through the gastrohepatic ligament to the liver and biliary tract. The right vagus nerve divides into the posterior lesser curvature gastric branches and a celiac vagal division.1

Add or change institution