[Skip to Navigation]
Sign In
July 1989

Western Surgical Association

Arch Surg. 1989;124(7):770. doi:10.1001/archsurg.1989.01410070020004

This article is only available in the PDF format. Download the PDF to view the article, as well as its associated figures and tables.


In this issue of the Archives of Surgery, we are pleased to present the scientific transactions of the 96th Annual Program of the Western Surgical Association (WSA) held in San Diego, Calif. Founded in 1891, the Association elected S. S. Todd of Topeka, Kan, as its first president. The original name of the organization was the Western Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, which was changed to the Western Surgical and Gynecological Association in 1892 and to the Western Surgical Association in 1909.

The WSA presidency has been held by such American surgical stalwarts as Drs Warren H. Cole, James T. Priestley, Charles Mayo (two generations, 1904 and 1963), O. Theron Clagett, Thomas Orr, and Chester B. McVay, and in more recent years by Drs George L. Jordan, Martin A. Adson, R. Dale Liechty, Alexander J. Walt, Melvin A. Block, and J. Bradley Aust, the current president. Dr Willis Gatek served

First Page Preview View Large
First page PDF preview
First page PDF preview
Add or change institution