[Skip to Content]
[Skip to Content Landing]
Citations 0
October 2004

Extra Credit

Author Affiliations

Copyright 2004 American Medical Association. All Rights Reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS Restrictions Apply to Government Use.

Arch Surg. 2004;139(10):1129. doi:10.1001/archsurg.139.10.1129-b

The recent Commentary by Dr Galandiuk1 failed to mention Donn Smith, MD, dean of the medical school, and Rudolf Noer, MD, the first full-time chair of the surgery department, who made critical contributions in shaping and laying down the foundation of today's University of Louisville School of Medicine (Louisville, Ky).

Dean Smith deserves credit for the medical school's joining the state higher education system. This permitted the development of strong academic departments and the expansion of research and clinical facilities. With Smith's leadership, the Jewish, Norton, Children's, and Department of Veterans Affairs hospitals were all integrated with Louisville General Hospital for teaching students and training residents. The new medical-dental complex was built through Smith's efforts and planning.