JAMA Surgery | JAMA Surgery | JAMA Network
[Skip to Content]
Sign In
Individual Sign In
Create an Account
Institutional Sign In
OpenAthens Shibboleth
[Skip to Content Landing]
Views 784
Citations 0
JAMA Surgery Masthead
October 2015

JAMA Surgery

JAMA Surg. 2015;150(10):926. doi:10.1001/jamasurg.2014.2529

Mission Statement: To promote the art and science of surgery by publishing relevant peer-reviewed research to assist the surgeon in optimizing patient care. JAMA Surgery will also serve as a forum for the discussion of issues pertinent to surgery, such as the education and training of the surgical workforce, quality improvement, and the ethics and economics of healthcare delivery.

  • Editor Melina R. Kibbe, MD

Deputy Editors

  • Adil H. Haider, MD, MPH, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Timothy M. Pawlik, MD, MPH, MTS, PhD, Baltimore, Maryland

  • Julie Ann Sosa, MD, MA, Durham, North Carolina

Managing Editor

Section Editors

Review Editor

  • Gerard M. Doherty, MD, Boston, Massachusetts

Surgical Innovation Editor

  • Justin B. Dimick, MD, MPH, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Web and Social Media Editor

  • Amalia L. Cochran, MD, Salt Lake City, Utah

Clinical Challenge and CME Editor

  • Pamela A. Lipsett, MD, MHPE, Baltimore, Maryland

Statistical Consultants

  • Terry Hyslop, PhD, Durham, North Carolina

  • Amy H. Kaji, MD, PhD, Torrance, California

  • Alfred W. Rademaker, PhD, Chicago, Illinois

Editorial Board

  • Karl Y. Bilimoria, MD, MS, Chicago, Illinois

  • Sally E. Carty, MD, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

  • Danny Chu, MD, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

  • Diana L. Farmer, MD, Sacramento, California

  • James W. Fleshman Jr, MD, Dallas, Texas

  • James C. Hebert, MD, Burlington, Vermont

  • Jonathan R. Hiatt, MD, Los Angeles, California

  • O. Joe Hines, MD, Los Angeles, California

  • David C. Linehan, MD, Rochester, New York

  • Eric K. Nakakura, MD, PhD, San Francisco, California

  • Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, Ann Arbor, Michigan

  • Martin G. Paul, MD, Washington, DC

  • Gilbert R. Upchurch Jr, MD, Charlottesville, Virginia

  • George C. Velmahos, MD, PhD, MSEd, Boston, Massachusetts

  • Sherry M. Wren, MD, Palo Alto, California

International Editorial Board

  • Juan I. Arcelus, MD, PhD, Granada, Spain

  • Kevin C. P. Conlon, MA, MCh, MBA, Dublin, Ireland

  • Marco Del Chiaro, MD, PhD, Stockholm, Sweden

  • Liane S. Feldman, MD, CM, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

  • Alberto R. Ferreres, MD, PhD, JD, MPH, Buenos Aires, Argentina

  • Andrew G. Hill, MBChB, MD, EdD, Auckland, New Zealand

  • Simon Y. K. Law, MBBChir, MS, Hong Kong

  • Dimitrios A. Linos, MD, PhD, Marousi, Greece

  • Olle Ljungqvist, MD, PhD, Örebro, Sweden

  • Chung-Mau Lo, MBBS, MS(HK), Hong Kong

  • Avery B. Nathens, MD, MPH, PhD, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

  • John A. Windsor, MD, Auckland, New Zealand

  • Manabu Yamamoto, MD, PhD, Tokyo, Japan

  • Han-Kwang Yang, MD, PhD, Seoul, South Korea

  • Cheng-Har Yip, MBBS, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Former Editors

  • Dean Lewis, MD, 1920-1940

  • Waltman Walters, MD, 1941-1942; 1946-1961

  • Lester Dragstedt, MD, 1943-1945

  • J. Garrett Allen, MD, 1962-1969

  • Richard Warren, MD, 1970-1976

  • Arthur Baue, MD, 1977-1988

  • Claude H. Organ Jr, MD, 1989-2004

  • Julie Ann Freischlag, MD, 2005-2014

Publication Staff

  • Offices: 330 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

  • Editor in Chief, The JAMA Network Howard Bauchner, MD

  • Executive Editor Phil B. Fontanarosa, MD, MBA

  • Executive Managing Editor Annette Flanagin

  • Managing Editor Brenda Gregoline

Editorial Processing

  • Manuscript Editing Manager Tracy Frey

  • Senior Manuscript Editor Shannon L. Sparenga

  • Manuscript Editors Miriam Y. Cintron, Paul Ruich

  • Freelance Manuscript Editing Manager Diane L. Cannon

  • Freelance Manuscript Editing Coordinators Connie L. Manno, Fred Marshall

  • Freelance Copy Editors and Copyreaders Catherine A. Alden, Stephanie Lang Beckmeyer, Jan Clavey, Mary Coerver-Connolly, Paula Glitman, Laura King, Kenneth W. Lane, Donna J. Thordsen, Caroline Woods

  • Editorial Assistant Wanda Hill

Editorial Operations and Systems

  • Directors Larry Bryant, Monica Mungle, Elaine Williams

  • Managers and Staff Kathryn Brokke, Fanny L. Brown, Paul Frank, Lenette Gardner-Gullens, Peter K. Kim, Rachell Lozano, Michaela Mark, Elizabeth Zak

Scientific Online Resources

  • Deputy Editor and Director Michael Berkwits, MD

  • Director, Development and Design Michelle Kurzynski

  • Staff Eric Butkus, Will English IV, Mustafa Ishaq, Daniel Morrow, Reuben Rios

Editorial Graphics

  • Deputy Editor and Director Ronna Henry, MD

  • Staff Joshua Bird, Karen Bucher, Samantha Welker, David Song

Clinical Review & Education

  • Deputy Editor Edward H. Livingston, MD

  • CME Editor Thomas B. Cole, MD, MPH


  • Director Marla A. Hall

  • Staff Yolanda Davis, Deanna Willis

  • Editorial Counsel Joseph P. Thornton, JD

Media Relations

  • Staff Preeti Malani, MD, MSJ, Deanna Bellandi, Jim Michalski

Periodical Publishing Staff

  • Senior Vice President and Publisher, Periodical Publications Thomas J. Easley

  • Vice President, Publishing Business Operations Brian Shields

  • Staff Monica Smith

Advertising Print & Online Sales & Marketing

  • Director Jeffery J. Bonistalli

  • Manager Kathy Russell

  • Staff Mirna Monal

  • Sales Representative Stacey McHugh

  • Director, Marketing Mark Thornbury

  • Staff Tricia Castellano

Classified Advertising

  • Manager Thalia Moss

  • Staff Mike Harvey, Susan J. Henning

Reprint Communications

  • Manager Susan Lovenberg

Circulation Print & Online Sales & Marketing

  • Director, Worldwide Sales Vida Damijonaitis

  • Managers Saskia Bolore, Gretchen Linder, Brian McCartney

  • Staff David Baum, Rebecca Haas, Christine Hearne, Natasha Nekola, Ron Thomas

Marketing and Product Development

  • Directors Paul Gee, Matt Herron, Elizabeth Solaro

  • Associate Publisher/Senior Product Development Geoffrey Flick

  • Managers Rick Bell, Lindsay Dawson, Craig McCaffrey, Michael McGraw, Romando Rossini, Stacy Tucker

  • Staff Millette Jackson-Bates

Business Operations

  • Directors Karen Adams-Taylor, Karl Elvin, Jaye Mize, Sean O’Donnell, Sue Sherrill

  • Managers David Antos, Chris Borden, Debbie Camp, Lydia Cruz, Scott Curl, Diane Darnell, Colleen Kelly, Chris Meyer, Annemarie Neff, J.D. Neff, Sean Ohlson, Phil O'Leary, Bill Pedone, Susan Price, Denise Steinhauser, Joe Wixted

  • Advertising and Production Services Kim Boler, Rhonda Bailey Brown, Timothy Burke, Daniel DeGroot, Jordynn Farrar, Euwanaha Joiner-Smith, Tiffany Jones, Cindy Rendlen, Ellen Yoshihara

  • Circulation Services Julie Burton, Dexter Golden, Erin Hinchcliff, Noemi Rivera, Geneine Van Someren

  • Composition and New Media Gail Barrett, Regina Brownlee, Amanda Camino, Brenda Chandler-Grayer, Emily Dunn, Amy Evers, Teri Hutchison, Mary Ann Kuranda, Joshua Lampinen, Nathan Mitre, Patricia E. Panek, La'son Diggs Sledge, George Thomson

  • Graphics Joe Amft, Maria Duda, Fred Furtner, Carolyn Hall, Maria Kowalkowski

  • Proofreading Carol Joy Farrell, Daniel James, Judith A. Literskis, Teresa H. Omiotek

AMA Executives

  • Executive Vice President, Chief Executive Officer James L. Madara, MD

  • Chief Operating Officer Bernard L. Hengesbaugh

The JAMA Network is a consortium of peer-reviewed print and online medical publications that includes JAMA®, JAMA Surgery, and other specialty journals. All articles published, including editorials, letters, and book reviews, represent the opinions of the authors and do not reflect the policy of the American Medical Association, the Editorial Board, or the institution with which the author is affiliated, unless this is clearly specified.

©2015 American Medical Association. All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission is prohibited.